1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Attention all new members, your account has to be validated via email before you have posting privileges. Do note that, the validation email may end up in your spam, junk or trash folders.
    Dismiss Notice

Calcium reactor media

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & other Equipment' started by illumnae, Dec 8, 2015.

  1. James72

    James72
    Expand Collapse
    Candy Basslet

    99%
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    WC, my current pH set point is 6.50, the bubble count & effluent rate is as per video. Its able to cope maintain my kH at stable 7.3dkh even with left over 50% media in CR but i have a secondary chamber about 4L coral chips in it helping to support too.

    I think your main issue is co2 trap at probe area. We have to find a way to resolve that. My probe is screwed 25mm into the holder. What's yours?

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  2. aquareef123

    aquareef123
    Expand Collapse
    Princess Anthias

    34%
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    187
    James your bubble how come so fast? I think more than 3 bps

    Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk
     
  3. Tamama

    Tamama
    Expand Collapse
    Barlett Anthias
    DTOTQ

    74%
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    231
    Hi James,

    Have you checked when the pH controller cut off at 6.5 setting?

    Anyway, I used to be setting 6.35 in order to cope with the consumption rate. However, to set 6.35, it means the co2 will cut off only when pH is at 6.29. This will require a lot of more co2 it seems but such co2 can't dissolve fast enough somehow and it got trapped inside the probe area.

    If I set my controller at 6.4, no issue and there will be no bubble trapped. Now I am setting 6.45 since I just topup my cr media using my aussie Sps. Haha..

    So I guess I can conclude that there is a lower pH limit that this cr can run effectively with a pH controller.

    Regarding the probe, it is same as yours in terms of how deep it can inserted to the pipe. As long as it is above the valve, it will surely get bubble trapped if there is too much co2. I think I will go hai chew again to get a pipe to replace the valve so that the pH probe can be inserted deeper below the T. In that case, even if there is bubble trapped, it will be above the probe tip.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  4. James72

    James72
    Expand Collapse
    Candy Basslet

    99%
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    Pat, i purposely allow faster bubble count and just let my pH controller take charge. As long the pH reaches the required acidity the solenoid will cut off the co2. This way i only need to worry about how much effluent to dose to achieve my desired kH, the rest are behind the scene.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  5. James72

    James72
    Expand Collapse
    Candy Basslet

    99%
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    Looks like you could be right. There is a threshold limit on the pH to dissolve effectively. Excess co2 might cause the trap under the probe area.

    Tonight i let you know if i control at 6.5pH when does the solenoid cut off.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  6. sherilyn91

    sherilyn91
    Expand Collapse
    Achilles Tang

    6%
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    108
    If ph controller set at 6.5, shouldn't the solenoid cut off anything lower than tt ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. James72

    James72
    Expand Collapse
    Candy Basslet

    99%
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    Depends on the range of that ph controller

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  8. James72

    James72
    Expand Collapse
    Candy Basslet

    99%
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    1,498
    PH controller set point 6.50

    Cuts in 6.56
    Cuts out 6.42
    Average co2 run time 5mins
    pH lowest 6.37
    pH highest 6.58

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  9. Tamama

    Tamama
    Expand Collapse
    Barlett Anthias
    DTOTQ

    74%
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    231
    haha.. my ph controller is very off by 0.3. So when I set ph as 6.4, it is actually running at 6.1, no wonder there could be so much CO2 bubble. So conclusion is to calibrate the PH probe once every 3 or 6 month.
     
  10. Alvin

    Alvin
    Expand Collapse
    Nudibranch

    63%
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorry for digging up an old post. Which lfs carries tlf reborn?
     
  11. Andrew Heng

    Andrew Heng
    Expand Collapse
    Common Clownfish

    22%
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    64
    Don't think it's available in SG now


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page